45% Complete
27.99 € inkl. MwSt. / zzgl. Versand ab 4.95 € innerhalb DE
Signature Dark
Rinne & Majamäki
On The Border
Release Date
12" Mini LP Electronica - Ambient Ambient Jazz Dark Ambient Experimental WW EXCL
Press release text:

Since the beginning, space and the sound of it has been one of the cornerstones of Tapani Rinne and Teho Majamäki's music. The two previous albums contain meditative music recorded in acoustically interesting and atmospheric locations - temples and caves in India, as well as deep underground in the railway tunnels of Helsinki's metropolitan area.

With the new album, the musicians wanted to keep outside factors to a minimum and record compositions in controlled studio conditions. In this way, different spaces can be created electronically afterwards into the works. Aleksi Myllykoski and Mika Kalmi are responsible for mixing and post-production. The tracks are based on Teho's metal percussion instruments and Tapani's woodwinds.

In the finished pieces, the duo went towards free musical dialogue, in which the boundaries between improvisation and composed music become blurred and insignificant. Instead of listening to the sound of the space itself, musicians tuned in to listen to the vibration of the metal and wooden instruments. ”We focused on sensing the mutual resonance of the instruments and the sensitivity of the improvisation. A presence on the border of familiar and unknown.” Says Tapani and Teho. The recordings took place in Kitee, Eastern Finland, near the Russian border. The location and way of working gave birth to the name of the record - On The Border.

Signature Dark

Label code:

Rinne & Majamäki

Release/record name:
On The Border

Vinyl tracks list:
1. ON THE BORDER 4′13″
3. PAAPEL 5′48″
4. RESONANCE 3′48″
6. LUCID DREAM 11′37″

Teho Majamäki (percussion)
Tapani Rinne (woodwinds)
Written by Tapani Rinne and Teho Majamäki
Recorded by Markus Pulkkinen at Monttu-studio, Kitee
Mixed and arranged by Aleksi Myllykoski (1, 2, 3, 5)
Mixed by Mika Kalmi (4, 6)

Mastered by Pauli Saastamoinen

Cover art by Jukka Koops and Tomas De Rita
Graphic design by Juuso Koponen

Copyright Signature Dark 2022
All rights reserved
# Artist Title
1Rinne & MajamäkiOn the Border
2Rinne & MajamäkiPerception
3Rinne & MajamäkiPaapel
4Rinne & MajamäkiResonance
5Rinne & MajamäkiReflection
6Rinne & MajamäkiLucid Dreams